Reflection on the New Year’s Revival – Me (D.B.Saunders)

Standard

Ok. So I didn’t want to overwhelm you with three sermons and three reflections, so I’ll just do one focusing collectively on all three sermons. For the sake of time and your attention, I’ll do my reflections in bullet style like the sermonic highlights.

1.       “Learning What to Leave Behind” (Gen. 12:1-4)

–          Baggage: Today I was joking on Facebook about spiritual hoarding, but it really hit me when Pointer related the death of Aaliyah to our spiritual demise. We have to let some stuff go. Too many of us have forfeited ministry for the stupid issues in our past we can’t let go of. Let go of your bitterness, resentment, insecurities and let God fill you up, so He can use you. Pointer concluded this sermon with saying “You can’t beat God’s giving”. This is so true. For every resentment, memory, sinful desire, guilt, inadequacy, person, relationship, place, and habit I gave up for God, He blessed me with promotions, education, relationships, knowledge, joy, peace, bliss, contentment, forgiveness…

–          Confusion in Ur: I know I’ve been guilty of worshipping idols in my life, and trying to downplay it because I was still worshipping God. The people in Ur knew of God and probably still feared Him, but He was not their number one. Until we make God the number one thing on our list of priorities and treasures, we’ll be guilty of idolatry.

–          Lot: Woooowww! This one really hit me hard! This New Year I have made a promise to myself to stop letting people use me. Although I’m still praying for compassion, I do have a tendency to take on a “project” every once in a while. For some reason I allow people to play up their victimization and then … somehow…they become my responsibility. However, just like Pointer said, my inability to challenge them to do better is causing their destruction vs. their growth. This year, people with issues coming to me will get help, but with the intent of progression. If I start to see their not growing, I’m gonna gracefully cut them off.

2.       “The Sufferer’s Shout” (Ps. 66:8-12)

–          We already survived it: I’m growing to the level of spiritual maturity that I thank God for my hardships. Instead of complaining about being broke, having some bad people around me, lazy coworkers/co-laborers, having my name or the name of family members scandalized or because things just aren’t going how I want them to, I am learning to thank God that my hardships didn’t kill me. I’m starting to look at the big picture that God is using my hardships to strengthen me for the things He has for me on the other side.

–          Temperament of our Hardship: This point killed me! While I go through things, I’m starting to realize that God not looking for me to just break, not to just seek Him for relief, not just to see His majesty…He’s looking for me to start acting like Him!! I’ve been saying for the past year that I want to be an image bearer of God, but I never related that back to using hardship to improve my image…I’m definitely going do some serious work here…

3.       “Need and Interruption” (Mk. 5:36)

–          Independence: I have trust issues…point blank. I grew up with the belief that if you don’t trust people with things that mean something to you, you won’t get hurt, disappointed or burnt. This is wrong, but it worked for me for a long time…until I started placing this belief on God…I have to let go and let God.

–          Isolation from Faith-Stealers: I mean…what can I say? This hit home. It’s hard to get used to being lonely… I’ve never been an extrovert, but I’d like companionship from time to time. However, God desires me to long to be with Him not people. I’m learning that the more I grow in Him, the more that’s gonna make people uncomfortable, so I’m gonna stop taking things personally. I understand that not everyone will embrace my growth joyously. J

–          Holding on to the Conversation: THAT’S WHY THIS BLOG WAS STARTED!!! I love the contact, but like Pointer said, “It’s not perpetual”. When things hit hard…my emotions, my frustrations, my anger with God, even prevents me from getting what I need from His contact and sadly sometimes it keeps me from seeking contact, but I’ll always have the conversations. That’s why I look like a mad secretary during preaching time. That’s why I don’t sit next to my buddies during preaching time. That’s why I have two Bibles on my phone, like ten at home and always at least one in my purse. That’s why I couldn’t care if all the service sucks as long as the sermon was good…because I need the conversation!!!

–          Individual Responsibility for our Miracles: Amen. This hit me so hard…I don’t know what to say…I just thank him for that…J

Overall, I thank Pastor Pointer for his messages. They have helped me in a way that I could never express. These sermons will be a part of my memory, weapon arsenal, and devotional time…for a long time. May God bless you Pastor Pointer in your ministry. I can’t wait to hear you again! Until then, I’ll remember to leave the old stuff behind as I board for my flight in God’s will of learning to shout through my suffering as I learn to let interruptions strengthen my faith as I wait for Him to meet and minister to my needs. God bless.

About preachersnob

Daphene, 25, is a graduate of the University of Dayton and currently finishing her last year of the MPA program. She and her husband, Alex, are active members of Macedonia Missionary Baptist Church in Dayton, OH, under the leadership of Rev. Jamison D.H. Hunter. The daughter of Rev. Dr. Robert E. Baines Jr and Mrs. Daphene Baines, she has been active in the Black Baptist Church all of her life. "While worship is great, there's nothing greater than to hear God's voice in a sermon! I love sharing this with others and I hope this site is helpful" - Daphene

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

