“It’s Time” – Pastor Jamison D.H. Hunter

Standard

The first Sunday of 2011 was, as expected, a joyous and celebratory occasion with new members and people who had made New Year’s Resolutions to recommit their lives to living for God. In that, Pastor Hunter took this opportunity to give a great charge and challenge to all those in attendance that “It’s Time”. Coming from Joshua 1:1-5, he delivered a powerful sermon charged with conviction, comfort and challenge.

Here are his sermon’s highlights:

–          When God makes a radical change, it doesn’t take an entire group of people.

  • He gives vision to visionaries. We have to stop handcuffing visionaries.
  • God doesn’t ask for your opinion or permission when He’s making a change.
  • God can do what He wants, when He wants, and how He wants, because He’s God!

–          GOD’S GETTING READY TO SHIFT SOME THINGS!

–          EVERYBODY’S NOT PROMOTIONAL MATERIAL!

  • Some of us are moving on up, but you may not be able to come!
  • God can’t trust just anybody with the spotlight.
    • Numbers 13-14: can you handle the spotlight?
  • Joshua’s qualifications:
    • He leaned on the Lord
    • He was loyal to his leader
      • In order to be a good leader, you have to be a good follower.

–          It’s time to reap the harvest of seeds we didn’t plant.

–          How to get ready for the change:

  1. Get Over What God Took
  • You can’t move into your destiny if you’re stuck in the past.
  • It’s time to move forward into what God has for us.
  • Some people are in our life for one season and one reason.  Stop making seasonal/reasonal people lifetime friends/companions.
    • God didn’t take stuff out of our life for us to look for them again!
  • STOP WORSHIPPING YOUR MOSES!!!!!!!!!!
    • We paralyze ourselves by getting stuck in old seasons.
  1. Cross Over
  • We struggle with our “that” because we haven’t crossed over our “this”.
  • To conquer “this” we have to look back at our past Jordans and take courage!
  1. Take Over
  • With the title to our blessings in our hand, the enemy still convinces us that he has possession.
    • We can either pout that he’s got our stuff or GO GET IT!
  • We have to stop settling for and living in marginality.

Snob’s Reflection:

It’s definitely been a while since I’ve blogged, because of the holidays and some personal things, but this sermon definitely got me right back on course. It is definitely time to step up and change. Pastor Hunter’s sermon challenged me to do things differently mainly in the area of vision. God’s given me visions, but I have been guilty of sitting on them because of the lack of support. Growing up in a democratic society, I’ve always felt that I needed the approval of a group of people in order to do something, even something for God. However, this sermon open my eyes to something I probably heard before: with God in your corner who cares if nobody else is there? The point on not worshipping your Moses was also very convicting. I will admit that I have some very strong, positive influences in my life like my mother, father, aunts, and some mentors, but I can’t be them, nor can I do everything like they do. I have been guilty of, not necessarily worshipping them, but of worshipping their methods. As Pastor Hunter says, living in the past paralyzes us in our pursuit of God’s destiny. I don’t want to miss what He has for me, because I wasn’t focused, because I was trying to life my life like someone else, or because I couldn’t have a real relationship with Him that addressed my needs, my personality and my assets, instead a relationship based on those I’ve witnessed others have around me. God I pray that in this new year, 2011, I rise to the challenge, that you instill the urgency of answering your call to whatever or wherever you’ll have me. Don’t let me become paralyzed by attempts of mirroring my ministry or relationship after others’. I pray this post has helped the readers to realize it is time. We’ve gotta get over what He took, cross over and take over! God bless.

About preachersnob

Daphene, 25, is a graduate of the University of Dayton and currently finishing her last year of the MPA program. She and her husband, Alex, are active members of Macedonia Missionary Baptist Church in Dayton, OH, under the leadership of Rev. Jamison D.H. Hunter. The daughter of Rev. Dr. Robert E. Baines Jr and Mrs. Daphene Baines, she has been active in the Black Baptist Church all of her life. "While worship is great, there's nothing greater than to hear God's voice in a sermon! I love sharing this with others and I hope this site is helpful" - Daphene

Leave a Reply

