“A Set-up for a Miracle” – Pastor Jamison D.H. Hunter

Standard

Pastor Hunter preached his second sermon of the year from Mark 6:30-44 and entitled his sermon “A Set-up for a Miracle”.

Here are his sermon’s highlights:

–          If you don’t seek rest from ministry, you make yourself susceptible to satanic attacks.

–          Victory doesn’t mean we won’t be attacked.

–          Even the holiest (Jesus) need rest.

  • Spiritual weakness leads to spiritual destruction.

–          OUR NEEDS ARE NEVER GREATER THAN HIS PROVISION.

  • God has provisions for our needs before we knew we needed it.

–          How to set yourself up for a miracle:

  1. Go Get It
  • God performs it, but we have to participate in it.
  • We are so busy telling God what to do, we miss our blessings.
  • Sometimes God puts us in storms to give us the answer to our questions.
  1. Be Patient in the Process
  • No matter how many “no”s you get, there’s a divine “yes” waiting in the pile.
    • Keep looking! Don’t lose your diligence, lest you loose your blessing!
    • Don’t give up your patience during your search.
  1. Give
  • There’s nothing like God’s multiplication!
  • Jesus doesn’t add or subtract from our little bit, He stretches it.

Snob’s Reflection:

                Miracles are, well let me say were, things I have/had difficulty dealing with. I’m pretty reasonable and this led me to see God pretty realistically and practically (or so I thought). I understood that Christ performed miracles while on earth to make himself known to those around Him, but never really thought He would (not because He couldn’t but just because I figured we should get it by now) do it today, until I thought back over the story of my grandfather. I thought about how four years ago, doctors counted him out as a lost cause. About how his chemo and radiation quit on him, how experimental herbs failed, and how doctors said there’s no way he’d make it into 2007…but God! My grandfather is still alive today! Maybe not doing great! But here, because God is still doing a mighty work through him. Until God’s through with him, he’s gonna be around, and I thank God for that. This sermon caused me to reflect on the things going on in my life. The areas of lack that need to be stretched and multiplied, the areas of strain that need refreshment, amongst other things. I thought about how I struggle financially, but God keeps stretching my pennies to pay bills of hundreds of dollars, how my rent always gets paid, how the electricity, internet, phones, water and heat stay on, how my husband and I eat until we’re full EVERY SINGLE NIGHT, DAY AND MORNING, how we have a closet, three dressers, a bookshelf, three tubs, a space saver, and bags of clothing to choose from each day (sometimes changing throughout the day), how we have both our parents in good health, siblings who love us, friends, a great church, a great pastor, and a strong love for one another. Only because of God! I think about how my husband struggled to find employment for one year and five months and right at his point of giving up (after hundreds of “no”s) God gave him a job (a divine “yes”). Although it may not be his dream job, he’s gainfully employed doing something he’s good at and bringing in income to support our household…God is just good!!! This sermon just really spoke to my testimony. As Alex, my family and I continued to trust God with our finances, the fate of our family members, and the direction of our course, God has not failed us. He’s performed so many miracles already, there’s no way I could ever again say “God doesn’t still perform miracles, today”. I know He does today and I’m in the process of setting up for another one by being available and obedient (go get it), patient (be patient during the process), and giving all I have to Him every day! God bless.

About preachersnob

Daphene, 25, is a graduate of the University of Dayton and currently finishing her last year of the MPA program. She and her husband, Alex, are active members of Macedonia Missionary Baptist Church in Dayton, OH, under the leadership of Rev. Jamison D.H. Hunter. The daughter of Rev. Dr. Robert E. Baines Jr and Mrs. Daphene Baines, she has been active in the Black Baptist Church all of her life. "While worship is great, there's nothing greater than to hear God's voice in a sermon! I love sharing this with others and I hope this site is helpful" - Daphene

Leave a Reply

