“A Posture of Expectation” – Rev. Lakendra Hardware

Standard

On a surprise visit back to UDIM (University of Dayton Interdenominational Ministry) service, Rev. Lakendra Hardware both blessed and challenged us. Coming from Luke 2:25-28, she preached on “The Posture of Expectation”.

Here are her sermon’s highlights:

–          How often do we look forward to Christ showing up in our situation?

–          What are you expecting from God?

–          Our postures:

  1. The Posture of Prayerful Expectancy (Simeon)
  • You cannot be devout without discipline.
    • Is seeking God a daily thing or an every-now-and-then thing for you?
  • Our expectations should be based on God, not ourselves or others, therefore negativity and naysayers ought not affect us.
  • Simeon’s posture enabled him to run into Christ in his daily walk.
    • Does my posture enable me to run into Christ?
  • You cannot live based on what’s given to you, but what God has promised you.
  • How are you living?
  1. The Posture of Routine turned into a Posture of Marvel (Mary and Joseph)
  • The very bearers of Christ had no idea what they carried.
    • Do you know how to carry Christ?
    • Do you know the power I carry by carrying Christ?
  • We should never stop being amazed at the works of God.
    • Has your complacency in Christ numbed you from His glory?
  1. The Posture of Praise (Anna’s Posture)
  • Is your lifestyle built on worship?
  • Benefits of a lifestyle built on worship: Discernment and unlimited resources through prayer
  • While we don’t live in the temple, it should be living in us.
  • Our worship births our witness.
    • What label are you wearing when others see you?
    • Our praise should be a continuation of our daily lives.
      • Are you ready for praise and witnessing in everything you do?
    • WHAT DOES YOUR WORSHIP GIVE BIRTH TO?
    • Does your posture block God’s glory?

–          We should start our life anew daily in pursuit of Christ. Every day should be spent preparing for your encounter with Christ.

Snob’s Reflection:

I look at myself as a intermediately mature Christian, but I still have a lot of growing up to do in God. The area of hope and expectancy is definitely an area in need of improvement. As an INTJ on the Myer’s Brigg, my personality doesn’t support wishful thinking, so the concept of faith in unseen things is very difficult for me. I don’t struggle to believe in God or salvation, because I can rationalize it. It’s very abstract, but God has opened my eyes, my mind and my heart and placed these truths inside of me and they are, now, undeniable and at the very essence of my being. However, I’m still struggling on the promises side. Rev. Lakendra has always challenged me to improve my posture of expectation and this sermon was a great reminder. Since I’ve been out of UDIM for a few months, I haven’t been challenged in this area. Now it’s back up in my face and I have to ask myself the question “how often do I look for Christ in my situations?” I always try to look at how I can solve the situation, but rarely do I look Christ in it. When my finances our out of whack I don’t look for God, I look for a quick hustle to get my affairs in order. When I’m dealing with friendship issues, I don’t look for  Christ, I look for what in my personality or my friends’ personality needs to be changed to make it work or if we need to separate. God desires that we place our hope in Him, not reason, not our 401K, not our jobs, not scholarships, not our spouse, not even our Pastor or our church, just Him. As we, myself especially included, develop the posture of expectation in pray, praise and marvel, we learn how to carry Christ effectively. While I attempt to live a life daily for Him, I never thought about the benefits of this. I’m newly marriage and I enjoy Alex’s companionship, our interactions, and even how I’m becoming a better person for him, I’m just now realizing that our relationship entitles me to cry on his shoulder, ask for advice, vent about my day and troubles, let him doctor me when I’m sick, come to my aid when I’m in trouble and help fight my battles when I can’t handle it myself. The same goes with my relationship with God. I’m working hard to please   Him and enjoy the joy I get from our relationship, but I still struggle to ask for His help. I pray this sermon assists you in changing your posture. We have to move from a posture of worry, sorrow, depression and frustration to the postures of the characters in the texts: postures of prayerful expectancy, marvel and praise.

About preachersnob

Daphene, 25, is a graduate of the University of Dayton and currently finishing her last year of the MPA program. She and her husband, Alex, are active members of Macedonia Missionary Baptist Church in Dayton, OH, under the leadership of Rev. Jamison D.H. Hunter. The daughter of Rev. Dr. Robert E. Baines Jr and Mrs. Daphene Baines, she has been active in the Black Baptist Church all of her life. "While worship is great, there's nothing greater than to hear God's voice in a sermon! I love sharing this with others and I hope this site is helpful" - Daphene

4 responses »

  1. Daph, your summary is noteworthy, literally! Thank you for putting such solid thought into your arrangement of the summary…It blessed me again to hear it through your ears and fingers. And of course, thank you for placing my sharing on this fine gathering of preachers and for sharing your view of the Word offering! Blessings & Love Always, Rev. LaKendra

  2. hello I was luck to seek your subject in baidu
    your topic is marvelous
    I obtain much in your Topics really thank your very much
    btw the theme of you blog is really splendid
    where can find it

Leave a Reply

