“A Personal Praise” – Pastor J. D. H. Hunter

Standard

Those of you that attend Sunday School should have noticed by now that the entire months of October and November focus on the book of Psalms. In his sermon series, Pastor Hunter has also focused his sermons on the book of Psalms and praise for the month of October. Last Sunday, October 17th, Pastor Hunter preached an awesome sermon out of the 34th Psalm entitled “A Personal Praise”.

Here are the sermon’s highlights:

–          Praise isn’t always a result of happiness.

–          What is your praise predicated on?

–          When there’s anointing on your life, it will be recognized.

  • You can’t hide it!
  • Your anointing makes people uncomfortable.

–          Our predicament shouldn’t predicate our praise!

–          How to mature to giving God intentional praise all the time:

  1. Realize God Delivered Us When He Should’ve Left Us
  • People take positions, but only God can give them power!
  • Do I trust God enough to take me where He said He’d take me?
  • We get in bad places, because we didn’t trust God, but He will deliver us once we seek His deliverance.
  1. He Kept Us in It to Deliver Us Out
  • Can you praise Him before the deliverance comes?
  • When God chooses you, you’ll pick up some haters.
  • Has fear caused you to make stupid decisions?
  • STOP WAITING FOR A SPECIAL DAY TO PRAISE GOD. EVERYDAY’S A GOOD DAY TO PRAISE!
  • Difficult circumstances strengthen our spirit.
  • Praise shouldn’t start on your lips; it should start in your heart and travel to your lips.

 

Snob’s Reflection:

As usual, Pastor Hunter’s sermon was all up in my business! Unfortunately, God’s anointing has brought haters around. It’s sad that someone being blessed causes you to despise and wish evil on them instead of praying for their growth and maybe your potential blessings. However, this is the case of many people. We grow to know a person when they’re sinking and that makes us comfortable because we’re higher than him/her; but when that person starts to grow in the Lord and He starts to bless them, we can’t handle it because it makes us grow. It’s so funny how this post came about. I started this Friday before I left work and couldn’t finish it, because I was taking some of the girls from my church to the movies, then I couldn’t finish it Saturday morning, because I was rushing to get to this conference at Calvary where my pastor was speaking. It was at this conference that we, Pastor Hunter, Sis. Dunklin, Ms. Muriel and I, had this conversation about growth in the church. We were talking about a ministry that’s fallen offline in the past few years, because we weren’t going in God’s direction. We were trying to persuade one of our sisters to manage the ministry, but her response was “I already don’t have that many friends”, and we all laughed, but I thought about that for the rest of the weekend…when God has His hand on you, it makes people uncomfortable, because light exposes darkness, so they can either move away from you into the shadow or they have to get rid of their mess. I struggle with the same issue. I don’t easily make friends, especially in church, and always wondered what I was doing wrong, but now the question may be what are they doing wrong? As God’s anointing continues to manifest in my life, I would imagine that fewer and fewer people not serious about relationship will want to be around me. It’s just like Pas Bryant says, we have to be real and relevant, not religious and pretentious. That’s what I’m gonna be about regardless, real and relevant ministry and if you can roll…cool, but if not, step aside don’t block my way! So…are people comfortable around you as they sin or are you making them uncomfortable? Is your praise personal or is it only for the public to see? As you begin to develop your relationship with God and make your praise more personal, you have to remember that He delivered you even when He should have left you and He kept you or is keeping you in some stuff so you could realize it was He that delivered you out.

About preachersnob

Daphene, 25, is a graduate of the University of Dayton and currently finishing her last year of the MPA program. She and her husband, Alex, are active members of Macedonia Missionary Baptist Church in Dayton, OH, under the leadership of Rev. Jamison D.H. Hunter. The daughter of Rev. Dr. Robert E. Baines Jr and Mrs. Daphene Baines, she has been active in the Black Baptist Church all of her life. "While worship is great, there's nothing greater than to hear God's voice in a sermon! I love sharing this with others and I hope this site is helpful" - Daphene

3 responses »

  1. I like what he said Sunday at 7:30 worship: Your praise should be audible, not anonymous. Stay away from PAP people – Praise-Anonymouse-People! It was an excellent sermon. It felt like he knew my story, because I wholeheartedly agree when he said (non-verbatim) you never know another person’s story or what they have been through. In regards to this, I learned after everything I have been through, Praise is what I NEED to do! Be blessed…

  2. “Praise shouldn’t start on your lips; it should start in your heart and travel to your lips.” I like that that. It makes me consider my praise. Why I do it when I do it, and the genuineness if it. There have been many times that I started a personal praise and it ended in a petition. It seems to me that I’m always in need of something. I thank him for being such a force in my life but can’t go without asking for more. On one hand I think that may be good in that I recognized how much I need Him in my life, how important He is to my daily emotional and physical wellbeing- His principles for living and His laws for obedience, and that without him I am nothing. I did some reflecting on Snob’s Reflection about relationships within the Church. It bought to mind the following passage. Matthew 25:35-41, New International Version (NIV):
    35 For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, 36 I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’
    37 “Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? 38When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? 39When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’
    40 “The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’
    41 “Then he will say to those on his left, ‘Depart from me, you who are cursed, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels.
    I find it difficult to offer my praise to Him when I have been disobedient. The words just cannot come out of my mouth. So you see, I am more often than not asking for His forgiveness of my sins. Christian Fellowship is continues personal development. It requires conscience practice. It must be desired from within. “One of Jesus’ most interesting teachings is that our commitment to him can be measured by how we treat other people”- Gospel.com

Leave a Reply

