” A Call to Service” – Pastor Jamison D. H. Hunter

Standard

So this week I am focusing the posted sermons on the topic of worship. Naturally, I am going to start the series off with my pastor, Pastor Hunter of Macedonia.

Coming from the very familiar text of Romans 12:1, Pastor Hunter preached a challenging sermon on Sunday, June 27, 2010 entitled “A Call to Service”.

Here are his sermon’s highlights:

  • Being in charge doesn’t make God skip our mess. Our position doesn’t prohibit hard times from coming in our direction.
  • God will put us under spiritual arrest when we become guilty of sewing half-heartedly.
  • Four things about the Call:
  1. Answering God’s Divine Invitation
  • God has a habit of interrupting our program. Our will has no pull over His will. We can plan all we want, but He gets the final say when work needs to be done.
  • To get what He’s got we have to answer the call! You can’t get the blessing/manifestation without putting in the work.
  1. Understanding His Motivation
  • We get new mercies every day! Not just one mercy, but infinite mercies, daily! He’s not like us. Regardless of how we act, He continues to show us new mercies in different areas that we haven’t earned.
  1. Making the Right Presentation
  • If you lose your life for God, you’ll realize you had nothing to lose!
  • God’s invitation is to death to life as you know it. He wants more than your money; He wants your whole body.
  1. Living in Celebration
  • Our ability to worship God is reflectant of what we do with our bodies.
  • What am I doing with my body? Who am I living for?

 Snob’s Reflection:

So worship is one of my favorite sermon topics, because I am growing into a very intimate relationship with God right now. I think it got easier for me once I got married (not that I’ve been married that long), because I’m in the process of developing an intimate relationship with my husband. So much of intimacy involves your body, but not in the way we would think as humans. God wants us to use every resource we have to worship Him and I relate that to my relationship with my husband. So, yes I give my husband my body sexually, but it goes beyond that. Taking care of my body as a gift to him, sharing my time, sharing my thoughts, my emotions, my money, my daily activities with him is a part of our intimacy and because I give, he gives. With God, He gave first though (wow, it didn’t hit me until I typed this)! God gave us His time by providing a 24-hour line for our requests, fears and praise through prayer, He shares His thoughts and emotions through the Bible, money/prosperity through every resource made and in the process of being made for us, daily interaction through His presence in all places, His comforter; and His body through His son Christ’s sacrifice on the cross and the Body of Christ left for us to interact, eat and grow with here on earth, through the Church. God is just so awesome, and yet He wants our help. Not even our help, but our services. He’s placed a unique calling on each of our lives, but it’s our responsibility to answer. We have been blessed to be a blessing, but many of us stop at the blessed part. We’re like “thanks for deliverance, Lord, got a lot to do, so…I’ll catch later with the blessing others part once I’m done with this stuff over here…”. It doesn’t work that way. As Pastor Hunter said, God has a habit of interrupting our program, so we can either get on  board with His will now or just keep getting our program messed up until we get it. It’s your choice. My favorite and the most challenging part of the sermon for me was point three, Making the Right Presentation when Pastor Hunter said if you lose your life for God, you’ll realize you have nothing to lose. This statement is so true, but so challenging. Who wants to give up their life? We’ve put in sweat, blood and tears for our life, so there’s no desire to lose all we worked for. I’ve learned, and am still learning, that our life doesn’t belong to us. Since I’ve started to let go of the reigns to my life, I’ve experienced joy and peace that I’ve never experienced before! God doesn’t desire us to live lives of anxiety, stress and depression, but we put these demons in our lives when we stop trusting God to be the captain of our ship. So, who’s your captain? Who are you living for? Are you answering God’s call? What is His call on your life? Where is He calling you to go? Are the stresses of life the result of your disobedience to God? Remember, God has put out the invitation, we have to answer. Once we answer, we understand His motivation, then we have to make the proper presentation and live in celebration.

About preachersnob

Daphene, 25, is a graduate of the University of Dayton and currently finishing her last year of the MPA program. She and her husband, Alex, are active members of Macedonia Missionary Baptist Church in Dayton, OH, under the leadership of Rev. Jamison D.H. Hunter. The daughter of Rev. Dr. Robert E. Baines Jr and Mrs. Daphene Baines, she has been active in the Black Baptist Church all of her life. "While worship is great, there's nothing greater than to hear God's voice in a sermon! I love sharing this with others and I hope this site is helpful" - Daphene

2 responses »

  1. That’s what so amazing and unique about the love of God, he gives first. Even in our relations, we wait to see how we’re going to be treated and then we return love base on the love receive. Now God’s love was given before the beginning of time and keeps on giving every second he allows the universe to exist. That why I praise him. See I know that I am weak and how much I need him.

Leave a Reply

