“The God of Much More” – Pastor Jamison D. H. Hunter

Standard

Sermon one of his prayer series, Pastor Hunter started off with a dynamic sermon entitled “The God of Much More” based off of Ephesians 3:20-21. In light of my last few entries, I felt this sermon would be timely although it’s from August 22, 2010.

Here are the sermon highlights:

  • If we just stop to read our owner’s manual (the Bible), we’ll discover that God is able to do more than we thought He could. He is able to do more than we can ask and He is able to do those things we just can handle on our own.
  • To experience this we must understand three things:

              1. God’s Ability

                 – Depression and anxiety show that we are not recognizing that He is able.

                – He is capable of engaging all things in our life.

                – God said whatever we need….He’s that!

               WHAT’S YOUR ASKING POWER? God can give you the desires of your heart, but can you ask? For how much?

              – If we believe in His ability, why are we praying such small prayers?

             – It’s time to ask God for God-sized blessings.

             – Keep asking and you’ll keep receiving.

           – Our thoughts are bigger than our articulation. His ability is bigger than our thoughts and our articulation, but He can give us more than we can ask for or even think about!

      2. God’s Answer: His Power and His People

           – WE HAVE TO PRAY WITH CONFIDENCE, OTHERWISE WE’RE WASTING GOD’S TIME.

           – There are no problems that can deplete God’s power, so just give Him the reigns.

           – We have resurrecting power over dead situations when we (and only if we) pray.

       3. God’s Aberration: Our Response

           – There is only one way to respond to the ability and answers of God: with rejoicing!

           – If anybody ought to be thankful, it oughta be us!

Snob’s Reflection:

I have never considered myself to be a “weak Christian”, but I have definitely been doing a lot of growing spiritually since Pastor Hunter’s been around. Partly because of the time in my  life he came (college graduation, parents moving>real independence, getting married, etc), but mainly because he challenges me to grow in areas that I felt were elementary, but am now learning that they are fundamental and need to be addressed and strengthened before you can more to more flowery aspects of your relationship with God. Areas like faith, tithing, prayer and worship are important, but I though I had those things in the bag, until He really spelled it out and I realized that I was just going through the motions, but not really giving God any glory. So this sermon, the first sermon, in His prayer series definitely challenged me in ways that I, honestly, didn’t want to be challenged. I know that I’m supposed to pray and I know that when I have a problem I’m supposed to bring it to God and leave it there, but I don’t always want to. Honestly, sometimes I don’t want to talk to God. Sometimes I feel like He’s punishing me and like a child who’s being disciplined by its parent, I don’t want to talk to Him. Sometimes I let the control-freak in me take-over and don’t wanna bring it to Him, because I’m afraid He’ll mess it up. I’m afraid He’ll come in and change things and redirect all of the work I’ve done to get things the way they are. Pastor Hunter’s sermon definitely forced me to be real with myself asking the question WHAT IS MY PRAYING POWER? opened my eyes. Jesus said that we have not, because we ask not. Are you in the situation you’re in or not in the situation you think you should be in, because you’re trying to do things yourself? Are you asking God for things you want or are you asking others? Are you bringing big and small things to God? Are you praying with confidence? Are you rejoicing when He gives you answers, peace, and blessings? When you are dealing with dilemmas, personal struggles, family problems, work-relations, etc, remember that God has power, ability and will have an aberation.

About preachersnob

Daphene, 25, is a graduate of the University of Dayton and currently finishing her last year of the MPA program. She and her husband, Alex, are active members of Macedonia Missionary Baptist Church in Dayton, OH, under the leadership of Rev. Jamison D.H. Hunter. The daughter of Rev. Dr. Robert E. Baines Jr and Mrs. Daphene Baines, she has been active in the Black Baptist Church all of her life. "While worship is great, there's nothing greater than to hear God's voice in a sermon! I love sharing this with others and I hope this site is helpful" - Daphene

One response »

Leave a Reply

