“A Few Things Before We Go In” – Bishop Mark C. Mcguire, Sr.

Standard

So, on Sunday, September 19, 2010, I visited St. Paul Global Outreach Ministries, of Dayton, OH, to see one of my best friends from high school get married. With no intentions of staying for the entire service, I went and enjoyed the wonderful worship service and cried tears of joy through Krista and Michael’s wedding. Somehow I got caught up in the service and, before I knew it, Bishop Mcguire was up reading the text. As a PK, I know how rude it is to get up and leave during the sermon especially if you’ve had opportunities during offering, announcements, and what-not to leave, so I sat and, somewhat reluctantly, prepared for this sermon.

Bishop Mcguire preached from Numbers 13:26-30, the story of the report back to Moses and Aaron by the Israelite men who had explored Canaan prior to their invasion, and Hebrews 11:6.

Here are the highlights from this sermon:

  • When we forget what we’re going through, we forget what we’re going to. Don’t get caught up in your past, but don’t forget what and where you came from. When we pretend we haven’t struggled, it takes away from our victory.
  • To manifest, you must have expectancy and anticipation. One without the other is not enough for manifestation! Expectancy is defined as the prospect of a future possession and anticipation is realization in advance. Imagine realizing something in advance, but not knowing what or having a prospect of something great without realizing it’s for you or when it’s coming…
  • You can’t come to church for nothing. Why waste your time getting up and getting dressed-up on Sunday morning if you aren’t expecting something life-changing?
  • We have to change our relationship with God in order to move to another level. Just like earthly relationships, unless if you fix broken aspects of your relationship with God, it can’t get better.
  • “Church-mindedness” prevents us from moving forward in God. Don’t become guilty of letter traditions overcome your relationship.
  • Can you recognize the nudge of God over the nudges of the world or the nudges of selfish desires?
  • God will hold us on the brink of our promises until we repent. Our blessings are unmerited rewards that God gives to the righteous, forgiven sinner, not to the sinner who thinks grace is an excuse to sin without repenting. No blessings on credit.
  • In order for the church to be strong, the members have to be healthy. While others may not see our individual issues, they definitely affect the church. You sin hinders your ministry and it is your ministry that helps hold up the church.
  • WE MUST HAVE A POSSESSIVE MINDSET TO BE A PART OF THE KINGDOM! If you are nonchalant about the kingdom of God, you’re not helping the kingdom.
  • We have to stop getting caught up in our mess. Our mess is what helps build the kingdom. MESS > MESSAGE > MESSENGER! A MESSENGER IS A MESS IN GEAR. USE YOUR MESS ARE PREPARATION TO ENTER THE KINGDOM GOD HAS FOR YOU.

Snob’s Reflection:

So this sermon was eye-opening for me. It’s been a long time since I heard a sermon from Bishop Mcguire. Mcguire has a unique ability to cover pastoral concerns while still convicting and encouraging the believers. The most notable areas of his sermon for me were the ideas of expectancy with anticipation and coming to church for something.  ANTICIPATION WITH EXPECTANCY: Probably about this time last year, Rev. Lakendra Hardware (soon to be posted on the site) preached a sermon about expectancy saying that we have to stop serving a small God. God is bigger than any issue we encounter, so we have to stop insulting Him by not expecting Him to handle our problems. I struggled with this idea and still do, because sometimes my issues seem stupid compared to the issues of others and I don’t want to bother Him, or I’ve asked God for help with the issue and He hasn’t fixed them on my time, so I feel like He’s forgotten or ignored me. We have to continue to be patient and have confidence that God has a plan for our lives even when they don’t align with our plans. COMING TO CHURCH WITH SOMETHING: Growing up as PK, church attendance was not optional. I would have to go to church on days that my parents let me stay home sick from school. Even now, if I’m sick or super exhausted, I still go to church at 7:15 AM every Sunday and 6:30PM every Wednesday, because I’m supposed to, but I’m not necessarily looking for anything. I’m just going to go. Bishop Mcguire’s recommendation to come for something is challenging, and falls right in line with my first issue, expectancy. While I may be looking for a blessing from God, I don’t always show up expecting it from God. This is definitely an area I have been growing in, especially in worship. I have been trying, for the past few weeks, to worship with a result in mind. It’s definitely helped me to worship harder, stronger and with real devotion. So, what’s the blessing/breakthrough God has for you? Has He promised you a new job, a new ministry, relationship, degree…? Learn to recognize His nudge when He’s sending you somewhere and prepare for your entry by getting healthy, fixing your relationship with Him, entering His sanctuary with anticipation and expectancy, being more kingdom-minded, and remembering where you come from.

About preachersnob

Daphene, 25, is a graduate of the University of Dayton and currently finishing her last year of the MPA program. She and her husband, Alex, are active members of Macedonia Missionary Baptist Church in Dayton, OH, under the leadership of Rev. Jamison D.H. Hunter. The daughter of Rev. Dr. Robert E. Baines Jr and Mrs. Daphene Baines, she has been active in the Black Baptist Church all of her life. "While worship is great, there's nothing greater than to hear God's voice in a sermon! I love sharing this with others and I hope this site is helpful" - Daphene

5 responses »

  1. Wow! That was very interesting. Of course I had to read about my Bishop. I am looking forward to reading your other entries! U go married PK! Lol

  2. See GOD puts us in the right places at the right time and once we are there its our response-abilty(Stpaul dictionary )to learn what we can in those times…It was truley a blessing for me to read this Thank you it re awakened some things in me that i may had lost in the hype of that day! Bless you

  3. I felt the same way when I too first attended St. Paul. I was stunned, listening to the Bishop. He was in my head and saying things that I was going through, feeling and struggling with. WOW! He is not preachy but down to earth, relating the Scriptures to you where you’re at.

Leave a Reply

