“The Worthship of Worship” – Rev. Jamison D. H. Hunter

Standard

So, this Sunday, my pastor just decided to open it alllll…. the way up during service! Coming from the 150th Psalms; Pas. Hunter preached on “The Worthship of Worship”.

Here are the highlights of this dynamic, dead-serious sermon:

– Our focus in worship shouldn’t be our pastor or our favorite song. Rather, our focus in worship should be God. How many times have you opted out of going to worship because your pastor wasn’t there or because the choir wasn’t singing something you didn’t like or it wasn’t your choir’s Sunday to sing? GOD IS THE FOCUS OF TRUE WORSHIP!

– God orders worship:

  1. By the place: In Psalms 150, God orders that we worship in two places: the sanctuary and under the heavens OR everywhere! This brings about two valid questions: What do you enter His sanctuary (the Church) for? and Do you stop praise at the entrance/exit of the church entrance? If we praised God throughout the week, we wouldn’t have an issue praising on Sunday! God meets us everywhere, even in strange places, so make sure you’re praising when He meets you.
  2. By the purpose: God’s deliverance, faithfulness and promises should be reason enough for us to praise Him continually. If these three things aren’t enough, there’s always SALVATION! We have been mandated to praise God, so whether you feel like it or not, we have to praise God.
  3. By the practice: Praise is for the ambience of God not us. Who cares if the music is not conservative/contemporary enough for you; it’s not for you! God likes music. Loud, triumphant music. If you cannot sing triumphant with the music (and over it) you might not  need to be up in the choir singing. Worship should be initiated by our devotion, not emotion.
  4. By the participants: Hold your breath for four seconds……………….ok. Now exhale. You’ve just met the only pre-requisite for the praise of God. There is no excuse to not praise God if you have breath in your body. If you don’t praise God, the rocks will cry out for you! We need to get the point of giving God our whole heart in worship, not sitting as spectators to those who are.

Snob’s Reflection:

 So as, I said in my intro, Pastor Hunter really pulled out some serious issues that we try to ignore in the church. I love to worship God, but not until recently did I realize that worship should be initiated by devotion instead of emotion. I always praise God in His sanctuary and try to praise Him everywhere else, but I wouldn’t really worship unless if I felt emotion overcoming me. Like I don’t think you should “fake it until you feel it”, but I do think there’s so much to be thankful for that it shouldn’t take a mighty force to get us to worship Him with spirit and truth. This is something I’ve been challenging myself to do, and have definitely noticed the difference. Before, when I led praise and worship, I would sing and if I felt strong emotions, I’d worship, but if I was having a bad day, I was sick, the crowd was dead or the song wasn’t going well, I’d just end without even attempting to worship God. I figured I got the praise out the way, so no need for the worship. These past two weeks, I’ve definitely noticed the change in my worship on Sunday and throughout the week. I leave each encounter feeling more filled with God than ever before, because I’m actually showing up with the expectancy of an encounter EVERYTIME instead of if I’m feeling well or feeling like it. I hope this post motivates you to really acknowledge the need to worship God. Don’t let little things in your church hinder your worship. Remember, God has ordered worship by the place, purpose, practice and participants. Where do you worship? Can you worship outside of the Church? If not, what’s hindering you from continually worship? Why are you worshipping? To exalt God or yourself? Make sure you are worshipping God with your gifts in spirit and in truth. We all have the only requirement to be a worshipper: breath in our bodies. While not all are called to sing in the choir or in the praise team, we’ve all been called to praise God.

About preachersnob

Daphene, 25, is a graduate of the University of Dayton and currently finishing her last year of the MPA program. She and her husband, Alex, are active members of Macedonia Missionary Baptist Church in Dayton, OH, under the leadership of Rev. Jamison D.H. Hunter. The daughter of Rev. Dr. Robert E. Baines Jr and Mrs. Daphene Baines, she has been active in the Black Baptist Church all of her life. "While worship is great, there's nothing greater than to hear God's voice in a sermon! I love sharing this with others and I hope this site is helpful" - Daphene

Leave a Reply

